Home CASTIGO CLASSIC RECORDINGS

Glanzberg, Norbert

Norbert Glanzberg was born in 1910 in Rohatyn in Galicia, at that time a province of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. After the family moved away from the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy to Wuerzburg in Germany, although still at school age, he was admitted to the Bavarian State Conservatory, where he studied piano, conducting and musical composition.

In 1928 Glanzberg became the junior conductor who had permission to conduct at the Wuerzburg City Theatre while still learning under a master. Further milestones were Aachen and finally Berlin, where he had his first success as a film composer in the legendary UFA, and, among others, conducted "Csárdásfuerstin" by Emmerich Kálmán in the concert halls of Berlin’s Friedrichstraße. In 1931 he composed the music for the Billy Wilder film "The Wrong Husband"(German: Der falsche Ehemann), among others the song "You’ve got me" (German: Hasch mich), a very successful song sung by the Comedian Harmonists.
With racial persecution by the National Socialists on the rise, from 1933 onwards, Glanzberg, as a Jew, had no longer any perspectives in life or possibilities for earning a livelihood in Germany. In 1934 he emigrated to France.

Initially Glanzberg could obtain no working permit in France. This meant that at the beginning, he had to struggle to get by as a street musician. Later he occasionally had the opportunity to conduct operas in various cities. In 1938 he came into contact with well-known French female chanson singers for whom he composed the chansons, which were an immediate success. With the occupation of France during Hitler’s Germany, Glanzberg was threatened from 1940 onwards by deportation. Once more without means - the German troops had confiscated the money of Jewish composers - Edith Piaf offered him support, engaged him as a pianist, and finally found him a hiding-place. Glanzberg, however, was denounced and imprisoned by the French militia. The prison had ties to the German organisation "Todt", which selected Jews for deportation. Glanzberg’s name was already on the list. He was ultimately saved by a French prison warder, seconded by a group of influential artists. Glanzberg was able to flee, and at last managed to go into hiding. After the war, Glanzberg chose Paris as his new place of permanent residence.

After 1945, Glanzberg composed international hits for stars such as Yves Montand, Petula Clark, Maurice Chevalier and Edith Piaf – among these the chansons "Les grands boulevards", "Mon manège à moi" ("Tu me fais tourner la tête") and "Padam...Padam". He also achieved international fame as a film composer, for instance as one of the three scorewriters of the Oscar-winning film "Mon oncle" (Jacques Tati).

 In the seclusion of old age, Glanzberg is revisited once again by the traumatic memories of the Nazi horrors, which now became more than ever a tortuous psychological burden. By the revitalisation of the late Romantic-era classical music which he studied at the Wuerzburg Conservatory, he succeeded to some degree in resolving his personal trauma. Norbert Glanzberg died in February 2001 in Neuilly-sur-Seine near Paris.

 

Available records

news | Links | GTC | Contact | Imprint
© 2018 castigo.de

Home CASTIGO CLASSIC RECORDINGS

Glanzberg, Norbert

Norbert Glanzberg wurde 1910 in Rohatyn/Galizien geboren. Nach dem Umzug der Familie aus der k.u.k. Monarchie nach Würzburg/Deutschland wurde er als Jungstudent am Bayerischen Staatskonservatorium aufgenommen, wo er Klavier, Dirigieren und Komposition studierte.

1928 wurde Glanzberg Kapellmeister-Eleve am Würzburger Stadttheater. Weitere Stationen waren Aachen und schließlich Berlin, wo seine Tätigkeit als Filmkomponist der legendären UFA erste Erfolge zeitigte und er unter anderem die „Csárdásfürstin“ von Emmerich Kálmán in den Haller-Revuen in der Friedrichstraße dirigierte. 1931 komponierte er für den Billy Wilder-Film „Der falsche Ehemann“ die Musik, u.a. das Lied „Hasch mich“, das, von den Comedian Harmonists gesungen, sehr erfolgreich war.

 Mit der anhebenden rassistischen Verfolgung durch die Nationalsozialisten hatte Glanzberg als Jude ab 1933 in Deutschland keine Existenzsicherung und Lebensperspektive mehr. Er emigrierte 1934 nach Frankreich.

 Zunächst erhielt Glanzberg in Frankreich keine Arbeitserlaubnis. So musste er sich anfangs als Straßenmusikant durchschlagen. Später durfte er sporadisch Opern in verschiedenen Städten dirigieren. 1938 bekam er Kontakt mit bekannten französischen Chansonsängerinnen, für die er Chansons komponierte, die umgehend reüssierten. Mit der Besetzung Frankreichs durch Hitlerdeutschland drohte Glanzberg ab 1940 die Deportation. Erneut mittellos – die deutschen Truppen hatten das Geld jüdischer Komponisten konfisziert – nahm sich Edith Piaf seiner an, stellte ihn als Pianisten ein und und verschaffte ihm schließlich ein Versteck. Glanzberg wurde jedoch denunziert und von der französischen Miliz ins Gefängnis gebracht. Dorthin kam die deutsche Organisation Todt, welche die Juden zur Deportation aussuchte. Glanzberg stand bereits auf der Liste. Ein französischer Gefängniswärter, sekundiert von einflussreichen Künstlern, rettete ihn. Glanzberg konnte fliehen und endlich erfolgreich untertauchen. Nach Kriegsende wählte Glanzberg Paris zu seinem ständigen Wohnsitz.

Nach 1945 komponierte Glanzberg Welterfolge für Stars wie Yves Montand, Petula Clark, Maurice Chevalier und Edith Piaf – darunter etwa die Chansons „Les grands boulevards“, „Mon manège à moi“ („Tu Me Fais Tourner La Tête“) und „Padam...Padam“. Auch als Filmkomponist erlangte er internationalen Ruhm, so als einer der drei Score-Writer des Oscar-prämierten Kinofilms „Mon oncle“ (Jacques Tati).

Gerade in der Zurückgezogenheit des Alters wurde für Glanzberg die traumatische Erinnerungslast des Nazi-Terrors zur psychischen Qual. Über die Revitalisierung jener spätromantischen „E-Musik“, die er am Würzburger Konservatorium studiert hatte, gelang ihm ein Stück persönlicher Traumabewältigung. Norbert Glanzberg starb im Februar 2001 im Pariser Vorort Neuilly-sur-Seine.

 

Erhältliche CDs

Aktuelles | Links | AGB | Kontakt | Impressum
© 2017 castigo.de